Dates & Times
Sat 24 Nov 18
7.30pm
From £10.00
Mon 26 Nov 18
7.30pm
From £10.00
Tue 27 Nov 18
7.30pm
From £10.00
Wed 28 Nov 18
7.30pm
From £10.00
Thu 29 Nov 18
7.00pm
From £15.00
Mon 3 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Mon 3 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Tue 4 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Tue 4 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Wed 5 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Wed 5 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Thu 6 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Thu 6 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Fri 7 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Fri 7 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Sat 8 Dec 18
2.00pm
From £15.00
Sat 8 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Mon 10 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Mon 10 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Tue 11 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Tue 11 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Wed 12 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Wed 12 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Thu 13 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Thu 13 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Fri 14 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Fri 14 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Sat 15 Dec 18
2.00pm
From £15.00
Sat 15 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Mon 17 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Mon 17 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Tue 18 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Tue 18 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Wed 19 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Wed 19 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Thu 20 Dec 18
10.15am
From £15.00
Thu 20 Dec 18
2.30pm
From £15.00
Fri 21 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Sat 22 Dec 18
2.00pm
From £15.00
Sat 22 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Mon 24 Dec 18
2.00pm
From £15.00
Wed 26 Dec 18
2.00pm
From £15.00
Wed 26 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Thu 27 Dec 18
2.00pm
From £15.00
Thu 27 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Fri 28 Dec 18
2.00pm
From £15.00
Fri 28 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Sat 29 Dec 18
2.00pm
From £15.00
Sat 29 Dec 18
7.30pm
From £15.00
Sun 30 Dec 18
2.00pm
From £15.00
Wed 2 Jan 19
2.00pm
From £15.00
Wed 2 Jan 19
7.30pm
From £15.00
Thu 3 Jan 19
2.00pm
From £15.00
Thu 3 Jan 19
7.30pm
From £15.00
Fri 4 Jan 19
2.00pm
From £15.00
Fri 4 Jan 19
7.30pm
From £15.00
Sat 5 Jan 19
2.00pm
From £15.00
Sat 5 Jan 19
7.30pm
From £15.00
Mon 7 Jan 19
7.30pm
From £15.00
Tue 8 Jan 19
11.00am
From £15.00
Tue 8 Jan 19
7.30pm
From £15.00
Wed 9 Jan 19
10.15am
From £15.00
Wed 9 Jan 19
2.30pm
From £15.00
Thu 10 Jan 19
10.15am
From £15.00
Thu 10 Jan 19
2.30pm
From £15.00
Fri 11 Jan 19
2.00pm
From £15.00
Fri 11 Jan 19
7.30pm
From £15.00
Sat 12 Jan 19
2.00pm
From £15.00
Sat 12 Jan 19
7.30pm
From £15.00
Sun 13 Jan 19
3.00pm
From £15.00
  • Preview Performance
  • Press Night
  • Schools Performance (everyone welcome)
  • BSL Interpreted
  • Relaxed Performance
Description

See Oz like you've never seen it before!

When farm girl Dorothy Gale runs away from the evil Miss Gulch, she finds herself lost in a strange and wonderful new world. With her faithful dog Toto at her side, she sets off on an adventure to find her way back home.

Along the way she meets some peculiar but loveable characters who are also in search of something special – a Scarecrow needing a brain, a Tin Man looking for a heart and a Lion lacking in courage. Together they follow the yellow brick road to the Emerald City in search of answers from the mysterious and all-powerful Wizard of Oz.

But the friends soon find themselves caught between the forces of good and evil as they are mercilessly pursued by the Wicked Witch of the West. Will they ever make it to Oz and find what they are desperately seeking from the Wizard?

The Wizard Of Oz is one of the most popular tales of all time and has delighted generations. In a bold yet faithful reimagining, directed by Liam Steel, this spectacular production features your favourite songs and characters from the classic film with an added sprinkle of REP magic.

Join us somewhere over the rainbow for a fantastic festive treat…

Recommended for ages 7+.

Alongside this production we are fundraising in partnership with The Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham, in support of their Heart Transplant department.

Creatives

Director Liam Steel
Set Designer Angela Davies
Lighting Designer Nick Richings
Costume & Puppet Designer Samuel Wyer
Dance & Vocal Arrangements Peter Howard
New Orchestrations George Dyer
Casting Director Will Burton
Associate Choreographer Matt Nicholson

Band

Musical Director / Keyboard George Dyer
Flute / Clarinet / Tenor Sax / Bass Clarinet Kristal Hamson
Violin Elaine Ambridge
Cello Andrew Crick
Guitars Ryan Webber
Drums / Percussion James Gorman
Orchestral Management Stephen Hill for Musicians UK Ltd

With music and lyrics by Harold Arlen and E. Y. Harburg
Background music by Herbert Stothart

Dance and vocal arrangements by Peter Howard
Original orchestration by Larry Wilcox
Adapted by John Kane for the Royal Shakespeare Company
Based upon the Classic Motion Picture owned by Turner Entertainment Co. and distributed in all media by Warner Bros.

Aerial  Artistry  and  Technical  Consultation  by  Wired  Aerial  Theatre
Show Climber Luke  Murphy

Venue Information

The REP

Box Office: 0121 236 4455

Company & Creatives

Actor

Zeke / Lion
Ensemble
Ensemble
Aunt Em / Glinda
Professor Marvel / The Wizard of Oz
Dance Captain / Ensemble
Hickory / Tin Man
Ensemble
Miss Gulch / Wicked Witch
Uncle Henry / Oz Guard
Scarecrow / Hunk
Ticket Information

From £15
Previews (24 - 28 November) from £10

Group, family, disabled and school rates available via our box office on 0121 236 4455. Please note, family rates are only available on the top two price bands.

Fees and Charges
Please note we charge a transaction fee of £2.50 on all payment types. This covers administration costs and postage and enables us to provide a dedicated booking service. This charge does not apply to transactions under £10, group bookings over 50 and school group bookings. We also waive this charge if you are a REP Friend.

Please talk to a member of our BOX office team if you require further information.

Running Time
Approximately 2 hours and 25 minutes (including interval)

 

ACCESS

Touch Tours

Touch tours enable blind and partially sighted people to explore the stage, set, props and costumes before seeing the show. Touch Tours are free and take place 90 minutes before the performance starts. Please advise Box Office if you would like a Touch Tour when you book. Assistance Dogs are always welcome, please inform Box Office when booking.

For any more information please contact access@birmingham-rep.co.uk

Fri 7 Dec - 6.00pm
Sat 8 Dec - 12.30pm
Sat 15 Dec - 12.30pm
Fri 21 Dec - 6.00pm
Thu 3 Jan - 12.30pm
Tue 8 Jan - 6.00pm

Audio Description & Captioning

All performances from 29 November - 13 January will be audio decribed and captioned. To access the audio description book a headset via Box Office or if you have a smart phone you can download the Sennheiser MobileConnect App: Android or iPhone.

How the Senheiser MobileConnect app works: download the App, then once you're at The REP choose the MobileConnect network on your Wi-Fi settings (no password is required). You can bring your own headphones or use ours.

Pre-show notes will be played through the headsets or App 15 minutes before the start of the show, in the auditorium. Arrive early to access these notes and other resources on our access table.

Fees & Charges
Fees and Charges Please note we charge a transaction fee of £2.50 on all payment types. This covers administration costs and postage and enables us to provide a dedicated booking service. This charge does not apply to transactions under £10, group bookings over 50 and school group bookings. We also waive this charge if you are a REP Friend. Please talk to a member of our BOX office team if you require further information.
Further Information
Access Performances
BSL 17 December 10.15, 2 January 2pm
All performances will be Captioned and Audio Described from 29 November - 13 January
Relaxed Performance 29 Dec 2pm, 8 Jan 11am
Touch Tours are available on request- Please talk to a member of our BOX office team if you require further information.
Join our Mailing List
Sign Up Now