Dates & Times
Sat 27 Nov 21
7.30pm
From £17.50
Mon 29 Nov 21
7.30pm
From £17.50
Tue 30 Nov 21
7.30pm
From £17.50
Wed 1 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £17.50
Thu 2 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £19.50
Thu 2 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £24.50
Fri 3 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £24.50
Sat 4 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £24.50
Sat 4 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £24.50
Mon 6 Dec 21
7.00pm
From £19.50
Tue 7 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £19.50
Wed 8 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £19.50
Thu 9 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £19.50
Thu 9 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £24.50
Fri 10 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £26.50
Sat 11 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £24.50
Sat 11 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £26.50
Mon 13 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £19.50
Tue 14 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £19.50
Wed 15 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £19.50
Thu 16 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £19.50
Thu 16 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £24.50
Fri 17 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £26.50
Sat 18 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £26.50
Sat 18 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £26.50
Mon 20 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £24.50
Tue 21 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £24.50
Tue 21 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £26.50
Wed 22 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £24.50
Wed 22 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £26.50
Thu 23 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £26.50
Thu 23 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £26.50
Fri 24 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £26.50
Mon 27 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £24.50
Tue 28 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £24.50
Tue 28 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £24.50
Wed 29 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £24.50
Thu 30 Dec 21
2.30pm
From £24.50
Thu 30 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £26.50
Fri 31 Dec 21
7.30pm
From £26.50
Sat 1 Jan 22
7.30pm
From £26.50
  • Preview Performance
  • Press Night
  • BSL Interpreted
  • Captioned
  • Audio Described
Description

When The Play What I Wrote opened in London's West End, originally directed by Kenneth Branagh, every single review was a rave, every show a sell-out and it won every major theatre award. The Sunday Times called it “a triumph” and The Observer said “audiences weep with laughter”. Now a brand new production directed by REP Artistic Director Sean Foley and co-written by Hamish McColl, Sean Foley and, of course, Eddie Braben will be bringing sunshine to Birmingham this Christmas.

'Hamish' has written a play, an epic set in the French Revolution called 'A Tight Squeeze for the Scarlet Pimple'. 'Sean', on the other hand, wants to continue with their double act. He believes that if they perform a tribute to Morecambe and Wise, Hamish's confidence will be restored and the double act will go on. But first Sean needs to persuade a guest star to appear in the play what Hamish wrote...

With a mystery guest star at every performance, this “recklessly, tear-inducingly funny show” (The Guardian) is “a loving celebration of comic genius which is itself touched with comic genius” (Daily Telegraph).

Previous mystery guest stars have included Ralph Fiennes, Ewan McGregor, Joanna Lumley, Daniel Radcliffe, Kylie Minogue, Nigel Havers, Jerry Hall, Sir Ian McKellen, Dawn French and Sting.

When selecting seats, please click on one seat in the bubble and the remaining seats will automatically be added to your basket on the following screen. There's no need to select adjacent seats on the seating plan.

For more information about ticket prices, booking and your visit, please click the 'Ticket Information' tab on the right hand side of this page.

Director Sean Foley
Designer Alice Power
Lighting Designer Tim Mitchell
Music  Steve Parry
Choreographer Ian West
Casting Director Sarah Bird

Hilarious… The gags come thick and fast producing a kind of comic delirium

Guardian

I laughed until I cried

The Independent

A loving celebration of comic genius which is itself touched with comic genius... A glorious brilliantly judged triumph

Daily Telegraph

It’s a cascade of gags and slapstick and knowing allusions: it’s a delirium tremendous… Audiences weep with laughter

The Observer

Wildly original and theatrical

Daily Mail

The most glorious, affectionate homage to one of the greatest comedy duos of all time… I was convulsed with laugher

Mail On Sunday

Venue Information

The REP

Box Office: 0121 236 4455

Ticket Information

 

From £15.50

Post Show Discussion Thursday 09 December

Socially Distanced Performances

Monday 29 November, 7.30pm
Wednesday 1 December, 7.30pm
Thursday 2 December, 2.30pm
Tuesday 7 December, 7.30pm
Wednesday 8 December, 7.30pm
Thursday 9 December, 2.30pm
Monday 13 December, 7.30pm
Wednesday 15 December, 7.30pm
Thursday 16 December, 2.30pm
Monday 20 December, 7.30pm
Wednesday 22 December, 2.30.pm
Monday 27 December, 7.30pm
Thursday 30 December, 2.30pm

 

Booking Your Seats

For bookings with access requirements or any other queries, please email ticketservices@birmingham-rep.co.uk with your ticket request and a contact number and a member of our box office team will get back to you. 

Alternatively, if you need to speak to someone, we have a limited phone service available on 0121 236 4455, which is open Monday - Friday from 12pm – 6pm. There may be a queue to get through to a member of the team, so please be patient.

After booking, if you don't receive your tickets digitally, make sure to check your spam / junk folder for your ticket confirmation. 
 

Fees and Charges

Please note there is a transaction fee of £2.50 on all payment types. This covers administration costs and enables us to provide a dedicated booking service. This charge does not apply to transactions under £10, group bookings over 50 and school group bookings. We also waive this charge if you are a REP Friend. Please talk to a member of our BOX office team if you require further information.
 

Keeping You Safe

Following the recent government announcement outlining the roadmap to re-opening, we want to reassure you of the measures that will be in place when you visit. Full details can be viewed here.
 

Your Visit

Please arrive 5 minutes before your allocated auditorium entrance time, which you can find on your ticket. On entering the auditorium please sit in your allocated seats only, in order to maintain socially distanced from other audience members.

Please note we cannot admit latecomers and a cloakroom service will not be available, so please avoid bringing large bags.

If you feel too unwell to attend on the date of your performance, we are happy to offer a credit note for another performance (subject to availability).

Join our Mailing List
Sign Up Now