The REP hosts the 2009 WHITING AWARD

The REP hosts the 2009 WHITING AWARD

The 2009 Whiting Award, supported by the Peter Wolff Trust, took place at The REP last night.

The prestigious national playwriting award – a prize of £6000 presented by Peter Wolff – was awarded to Alexi Kaye Campbell for his debut play, The Pride.

Alexi Kaye Campbell’s play was chosen from a total of 45 scripts which were submitted for consideration. The Pride was produced at the Royal Court Theatre in November 2008.

Seven other plays made it on to the shortlist for the 2009 award including Simon Stephens’ Pornography which was produced by The REP and Traverse Theatre in 2008.

The Peter Wolff Theatre Trust has generously funded the Whiting Award since 2008. The award was established in 1965 to give recognition to the writer of a new play that demonstrated an original and distinctive development in dramatic writing.